The New Los Angeles

Narrated by

Linda Hunt


Produced and Directed by

Lyn Goldfarb


Series Producers

Paul Espinosa

Lyn Goldfarb

Jed Riffe


Associate Producer

Alison Sotomayor



Gail Yasunaga



Sandra Chandler


Original Score

Miriam Cutler


Additional Camera

Michael Chin

Vicente Franco

Anayansi Prado

David Koff

Amie Williams

Howard Shack

Witt Monts

Zachary Fink


Sound Recordist

Stacy Hruby


Additional Editing

Bill Haugse


Assistant Editor

Yuka Moriya


Additional Sound

Curtis Choy

Kenny Kosar

Robin Wass Lance

Dave McJunkin


Camera Assistants

Mike Buol

Marisol Montoya

Jim Jerome

Kerrec Williams


Production/ Post Production Assistance

Andrea Carrillo

Danielle Mana

Elease Lui

Lara Weithorn

Ashley Tindall

Edward Flores

Talia Hassan

Conor Dickinson

Anthony Dorsey

Janae Dimick

Alison Rootberg


Production Coordinator

Noor Ahmed


National Archives Researcher

Bonnie Rowan



Andrea Carrillo



Robin Johnson

Rosalina Gonzales

Susan Olshuff


Project Advisors

Raphael J. Sonenshein

Peter Dreier

Manuel Pastor Jr.

Karen Brodkin

Leland T. Saito

Pierrette Hondagneu-Sotelo

Alberto Camarillo

David Perry

Troy Duster

Gloria H. Chun

Gerald Haslam


Series Consultant

Rhyena Halpern


Post Production Supervisor

Jed Riffe


Post Production Technical Supervisor

M. Emrah Oral


Post Production Coordinator

Jocelyn Fabello


Post Production Technical Consultant

Tom Halasz


After Effects

Carter Tomassi


Motion Graphic Design

eMotion Studios

Paul Lundahl, Creative Direction

Erik Johnson, Producer

Mark Woloschuck, Motion Graphic Design

Ikuko Kobayashi, Graphic Design

Jennifer Thompson, Editor

Michael Becker, Sound Design


Sound Supervisor

E. Larry Oatfield


Fx Editor

Michael Kelly


Dialog Editor

Kim Foscato


Re-Recording Mixers

E. Larry Oatfield

Brandon Proctor


Online Editor

Heather Lyon Weaver


Additional Online Services

Loren Sorensen


BAVC Technical Service Manager

Robert Tachoires


Narration Recording Chief Engineer

Andy Morris


Post Production Facilities Online

Bay Area Video Coalition, San Francisco


Post Production Sound Services

Skywalker Ranch

a Lucasfilm Ltd. Company, Marin County

Lora Hirschberg Bison-Bison Studio, San Francisco

Berkeley Sound Artists, Berkeley

Narration Recording: Buzzy’s Recording Studio, Los Angeles

Original Music Performed by

Noviola and Nan Picceli, Strings

Ira Ingber, Electric and Steel Guitars

Yussi, Spanish Guitar

Carl Sealove, Bass


Music Engineer

Ian Zenith


Still Photographer

Irene Fertik


Print Graphic Design

Maximo Escobedo

Richard Bermack


Footage Sources

“Antonio’s Run”

Associated Press Television News Service

BBC Motion Gallery

Buyout Footage

Chinese Chamber of Commerce of Los Angeles

The Conus Archive

“Fighting for Our Lives”

F.I.L.M. Archives

Heart & Soul Design Communications

Lionel Heredia

George Holliday, King Video

L.A. CityView 35

Life and Times, KCET/Hollywood

Los Angeles Chinatown Business Council

Los Angeles Alliance for a New Economy

Louis H. Simmons/City of Angels Productions

MacNeil-Lehrer Productions

Fernando Mejia

National Archives & Records Administration

NBC News Archives

Paul Edwards Films


Joan Sekler

Service Employees International Union, AFL-CIO


United Farm Workers of America, AFL-CIO

Video Tape Library, Ltd.

Walter P. Reuther Library, Wayne State University

WPA Film Library

Wrath of Grapes

Stills & Graphics Sources

Amateur Athletic Foundation

Ethel Bradley

Lorraine Bradley

Center for the Study of Political Graphics

Community Coalition

Community Redevelopment Agency of the City of Los Angeles

Paul Conrad

Maria Elena Durazo

Bob Fitch Photo

Bob Kholos

Korea Times

L.A. County Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO

Bee C. Lavery

Los Angeles Alliance for a New Economy

Los Angeles Times

Tribune Media Services


Jan Sonnenmair

Marc Wanamaker/Bison Archives

Special Thanks

David Koff

Hilda Delgado

Michael Collins

Kent Wong

Sandee Spiker

Grant Keiner

Gilda Haas

Martin Ludlow

Manuel Pastor

Leland Saito

Jono Shaffer

Susan Tanner

Kyeyoung Park

Patt Morrison

Paradigm Productions

Lorena Parlee

Joe Ramallo

Union Media

Wanda Moore

Maury Weiner

Bill Elkins

Stewart Kwoh

George Kieffer

Eli Broad

Eric Mann

Judy Holme Agnew

Sonya Childress

Ellen Schneider

Bruce Sievers


UCLA Center for Labor Research and Education

Community Coalition, SC-YEA

Korean American Museum

Hollywood Renaissance Hotel

Los Angeles County Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO

Special Collections, UCLA Library

L.A. Inc., The Convention and Visitors Bureau

LAX Los Angeles World Airports

Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association

Los Angeles City Archives



Michael Donaldson


Production Accountant

Emily Rice


Fiscal Sponsors

Bay Area Video Coalition, San Francisco

Media Arts Center, San Diego


A Production of

Lyn Goldfarb Productions, Inc.


California and the American Dream

is a co-production of

Paul Espinosa, Lyn Goldfarb, Jed Riffe


Independent Television Service


Executive Producer for ITVS

Sally Jo Fifer


This program was produced by Beyond the Dream, LLC

which is solely responsible for its content.

© 2005, Paul Espinosa, Lyn Goldfarb, Jed Riffe, All Rights Reserved.


  2006 Beyond The Dream LLC